The Life, Beliefs, and the Thoughts of Osama Bin Laden, Part 2

It’s been nine days since the death of the world’s most wanted man, most sought-after fugitive, and arguably one of the most evil people to ever live in my lifetime. As previously mentioned, I’ve spent many hours reading, watching, and researching more about this man, now that he has died. I have started to develop my own theories through my research and have come to a few conclusions that are none other than my own opinion.

Since I am trying to look at his life with an open mind, as much as I can, despite his attempted murder of my own father with the attack on the Pentagon, I am trying to understand why he developed such a hate for America and Western civilization as a whole. I downloaded some samples of books on my Nook, particularly “The Cell” by John Miller and “Growing up bin Laden” by his first wife, Nawja and fourth son, Omar.

The first 71 pages of “Growing up bin Laden” were so intriguing that I was not satisfied with the sample ending mid-sentence, mid-chapter. (Later I was told that’s why they call it a “sample,” of course!) I decided to just lose the ten dollars and buy it. So, it came to my Nook instantly and I have been plowing through it almost non-stop since then. It is an easy read in the sense that both Nawja and Omar talk rather simplistically, but at the same time, parts are hard to read because of how they describe their lives. One thing that really struck me in the letter to the readers (written by one of the commentators, if you will, Jean Sasson) in the beginning is the following:

People are not born terrorists. Nor do they become terrorists in a single stroke. But step by step … their lives unfold in a pattern that leaves them prepared to receive the seed of terrorism. And so it was with Osama bin Laden. And the man, men, and events that planted that seed faded away. But the seed grew and the terrorist walked. And the man before become the terrorist thereafter. Najwa Ghanem bin Laden knows only the man. The West knows only the terrorist.

This statement encompasses my entire view on my research. As much as I harbor hate for him for what he did to my own life, not to mention the inhumane things he’s done to others in this country, I still hold a part of me that wants to see him as the man Nawja once knew.

Once I heard of his death, I was text messaging with a friend about it, saying our 20-something, inexperienced comments to each other such as, “Can you imagine being the person who took the shot?” After batting back and fourth with one another, I suddenly let out something that I was surprised would come out of my fingers. “I sort of feel sorry for him. He had one chance at life and this is how he chose to live it. Now, his family has to live with losing a husband, child, brother, and father.”

She didn’t respond, perhaps because she didn’t agree with me. And I’m sure that me admitting that statement publicly could irritate a lot of people, but despite what he’s done (which believe me, is inexcusable), he still has a family that loves, or loved him at one time and they have to mourn the death of him, while others are rejoicing along the streets of America.

Then I came across a verse about the death of the wicked. Ezekiel 18:23 says, “‘Do I have any pleasure at all that the wicked should die?’ says the Lord GOD, ‘and not that he should turn from his ways and live?'” The Lord does not take pleasure in the death an evil-doer, in fact, He feels sad when they die, because they did not use their life as a time to repent and be forgiven for their evil actions. This is exactly how I felt in that moment I sent that message to my friend: sad. I truly do wish within my heart that he had been able to admit his wrong-doings and ask the Lord for forgiveness.

And that’s the thing about forgiveness from God. Whether a four-year-old me asks for forgiveness for lying to my parents about dumping baby powder on my white dog (true story) or whether Osama bin Laden asks for forgiveness for his bombings, high-jacking, and thousands of deaths, God always answers, “yes.” It hurts me to think that he could have been forgiven, but more than likely didn’t use his chance while on earth to ask for that forgiveness.

As I’m reading “Growing up bin Laden,” I can feel the hate that literally was festering within him. What drove him to his actions, I believe, is his extreme views on Islamic rules and culture. He did not believe in hardly anything that the western part of the world had as a part of everyday life. Things in our lives that we don’t even think twice about, such as electricity, television, doctors, or toys for our children–Osama wanted none of that in his life or the life his own children. If that is the way he wants to live, I see it as fine, because God gave us a free will. The problem with how he wants to live is that he did the exact same thing that he accused Americans of doing–pressing our ways onto others. His goal through al-Qaeda, as described in the book by his wife and son, was to try to get rid of Westernization as a whole and through that, the entire world would become an Islamic culture. They also state, at the same time, that he hated how Americans were always trying to put their Western ways into other countries. What was going on inside that man’s mind was a never-ending battle, that grew to so much hate that he took serious revenge by the actions he displayed ten years ago.

4 thoughts on “The Life, Beliefs, and the Thoughts of Osama Bin Laden, Part 2

  1. Good start to your thinking on this topic. Consider this: we too often tend to prescribe our way of life on others. Just because it works here doesn’t mean it will or should work somewhere else. If we must prescribe, we should instead enable those that are willing and able to aspire to our quality of life and let them live their own way–whatever that may be. We have no business pushing our way of life on others yet we do so. Those that feel their way of life is threatened can grow to really hate us (e.g. UBL et al). I contend that the key is for America to change its way of life while preserving its quality of life.

  2. Consider this TC, all Bin Laden ever did was try to prescribe his way of life on others. Radical Islam. Either by indoctrinating youth or orchestrating 747’s flying into American Buildings. I don’t believe the United States ever negatively effected Bin Laden’s way of life. In fact his family had great success through business interactions with the western world. I am afraid it is your way of thinking that allows men like this to exist. I believe the U.S. citizens felt their “way of life” was threatened by terrorist acts perpetrated by Al queda hence why we executed their leader. God bless America.

  3. Jackinthebox, I think you have misinterpreted my intention. UBL portended to represent much more than himself and his family. He was able to fill a void of a powerful voice and logic for a growing number of disenfranchised muslims who were led to believe thru corrupted teaching that God had punished them for allowing infidels to affect their way of life. This goes back to the middle ages but largely thru the internet the quality of life gap has been exposed. Until we can rewrite a narrative that respects the way that others live according to their chosing and values; and they reconcile their ways with modern times, we will continue to create enemies like UBL.

  4. Consider this, too, jackinthebox, we Americans are not completely innocent in these matters. It is hard for most Americans to believe that how we live can inspire others to hate us. If UBL has not caused us to at least pause and question these things, then we have missed the greatest lesson of all, in my opinion. We can not possibly hunt down and kill everyone who stakes a violent claim or acts against us. Altho, I agree this is necessary in cases such as UBL and other hard-core believers in false teachings, it is not the solution. The solution includes a seismic shift of national attitude away from universal entitlement to what is not exclusively ours for the taking. Just because we can afford it, doesn’t mean its ours if we want it.

Please, challenge me!

